Wk 5- Activity- Counterfactual Identity

 

                                       FullSizeRender                                                                                                   FullSizeRender (1)

BEFORE                                                                                                                                                                   AFTER

I am going to admit I wasn’t sure what do for this project. So I just threw on some random pieces of clothes that I have, which some I do wear. I realized I have some clothing I wouldn’t wear but bought since I thought it looked nice at the end. I know that people would look at me differently. After I came home to change from a BBQ I was at, I came to put the pieces of clothing I had together. I went back to the BBQ, right when I walked in people were looking at me funny.

I was just standing there for awhile since people were staring and by the way I barley even know half of these people. This girl was passing by and I asked her if I could ask her a few questions. When I asked her what she thought my name was she said “Jazmine”. After I asked her why and she said it was the first name that came to mind. I proceded to ask her what she thought my major was which she said “Art”.  She choose Art because to her someone who is in to Art dresses weird, with different patterns, different colors, and that they tend to just throw whatever clothing on.

The whole time she was talking to me, it was as if she really wasn’t not really making eye contact because it seemed as if she was embarrassed to speak to me. I thought it was funny because people are usually comfortable talking to me, because I am a approachable person. I was skepitic about this project but in the end it made me realize the way I dress can change how people react towards me. I honestly thought I was normal and to others it probably seems weird. We all have our views on whats normal. After I told the girl my name and actual major she said she would have never thought because the way I dressed. This project was interesting.

Leave a Reply

